Driving Under the Influence is major offense in Washington State. The strictest laws in the nation are on the books here and the highest cost of DUI conviction of any state. Even for first-time offenders, a conviction for DUI can include mandatory jail or home monitoring, thousands of dollars in fines, community service, cost of classes, an interlock device, and possibly driver’s license suspension. Not to mention the cost of your insurance with a DUI on your driving record.
Every DUI case can be defended. Sometimes BAC breath tests, commonly known as the breathalyzer, are unreliable. Scientists have shown that breathalyzers can be affected by what you’ve eaten, how law enforcement administers the test, and even your body temperature.
If you’re charged with a DUI, don’t plead guilty!
Call Schodowski Law Inc. PS at (360) 821-8873 for a free consultation.
There isn’t just one penalty for DUI in Washington State. A first-time offender whose BAC tested at least 0.08, or who refused a BAC test, can face all of the following:
Washington State DUI Penalties
- 24 Hours Consecutive Minimum Jail Time
- $940.50 minimum fine
- 90 days license suspension
- One year of Interlock Ignition Monitoring
- 30 Day Minimum Jail Time
- $1195.50 Minimum Fines
- 2 year driver’s license revocation
- 90 Day Minimum Jail Time
- $2445.50 minimum fines
- 3 years driver’s license revocation
And your insurance rate will increase for each offense, if your insurance company determines if you are insurable.
For more information on the potential penalties for a DUI conviction Click Here to Download the DUI Penalty Sheet.
Elements Of DUI:
Few of us realize how truly important driving is to our everyday lives. We rely on driving to go to work, run errands, socialize, and go on vacations. In short, a DUI conviction can impede one’s lifestyle. A Driving Under the Influence may seem straightforward, but unfortunately it is not. The Washington State Drunk Driving/DUI elements consist of:
Being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle in the State of Washington, AND;
- Having a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .08 or greater within two hours after being in physical control of the motor vehicle,
- Being under the influence of or affected by alcohol/ drug; the offense must occur on a specific date and in a specific place within the State of Washington.
If you or someone you know is facing a DUI in Washington State, The Law Offices of Joseph Schodowski, PLLC can help! We can help protect you from unreasonable convictions, and help you get your life back in order.
Visit my Contact page to find out how to set up a free consultation, or call (360) 821-8873 and take the first step towards getting your life back together.